Friday, November 13, 2015

Review: Rolling in the Deep by Rebecca Rogers Maher



Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Publication Date: November 2015

Blurb:

In this raw, moving novel for readers of Jill Shalvis, Molly O’Keefe, and Karina Halle, two kindred spirits share a winning lottery ticket—and discover what it really means to get lucky.

Holly Ward is stretched to the breaking point, raising her young son alone and working long hours for minimum wage at a local superstore. Sure, she’s noticed the new guy with the easy grin and warm brown eyes, but she’s learned the hard way that relationships aren’t worth the pain. Still, when he invites her to split a lottery ticket, she figures a little innocent fun couldn’t hurt. The last thing she expects is to score big, which is exactly what happens . . . in more ways than one.

From the moment he meets Holly, Ray Lopez is drawn to her quiet dignity and openhearted beauty. And when they hit the jackpot together, he’s thrilled that the single mom can give her kid a better life. The only problem is the chaos surrounding them: lawyers and reporters swarming, friends and family angling to get their cut. In all the chaos, Ray discovers an oasis of calm and passion in Holly. But with the stakes higher than ever, winning her trust could cost him everything.

Review:

What would you do if you won the lottery? I would have gone straight to the bookstore to buy more books. Ray and Holly are the winners of the lottery draw and proud owners of 80 plus million dollars. Their lives were not the easiest. Both of them live check to check for a while and the lottery changes their lives in more way than one. The romance between them is developed before the win but after that chaos descend and they try to find out what this attraction means with all the added drama.

Holly is a single mother who made a poor choice when she married her ex husband. If I were Emma I would have divorced him after everything he said to Holly during this book. Ray is a nice a guy, but I don't see him as a book boyfriend. He is the first person I put on a fictional friendzone. Fortunately for him Holly doesn't see it in this way. Something about him didn't click for me so I can't picture him as a book boyfriend.

The story is good, but it felt a little rushed. It's an 180 page book so I believe that the 50 more pages could have been added in order for the book to not feel rushed and abrupt. In the end things got a little predictable, but hat was the least of worries. Overall, I am not sure if I would have recommended this book. I feel like it had a lot of potential, but it wasn't delivered as it should have. I got the minimum pleasure from this book, unfortunately and I am hoping that the second book will deliver more.