Friday, October 16, 2015

Review: Major Misconduct (Aces Hockey #1) by Kelly Jamieson




Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Publication Date: October 13 2015

Blurb:

In Kelly Jamieson’s seductive new Chicago Aces romance—perfect for readers of Sawyer Bennett and Toni Aleo—a fun-loving free spirit tempts an uptight hockey star into opening himself up to love.

As the captain of the Chicago Aces, Marc Dupuis is all business. The apartment he shares with his teammate and best friend, Duncan, is a refuge from the pressures of fame. But when the sexiest woman he’s ever seen interrupts his early morning coffee wearing only a skimpy cami and matching panties, Marc can’t exactly say he minds. Their chemistry is off the charts. Unfortunately, this girl’s no random puck bunny. She’s Duncan’s little sister—and she’s moving in.

Lovey Armstrong could stare at Marc’s chiseled abs and listen to his French-Canadian accent all day. She just has no idea what’s going on inside his head: When he’s not charming her pants off, Marc makes a Zamboni machine seem warm and cuddly. Lovey knows the team’s bro code says no messing with sisters, but all these mixed messages are hard on a girl’s self-esteem—especially since she’s finally getting her new life together in Chicago. She decides he’s worth another shot . . . because if anyone can melt the ice around Marc’s heart, it’s Lovey.
Review:

Major Misconduct is a solid four star book for me. While it wasn't the most amazing book I read this month, it was a very good contemporary read and I loved how well the in love with brother's best friend thing worked out. The last books that I read in this genre didn't work out for me, but this one did. I liked how they were sneaking around Duncan and how they tried to fight the feelings between them, but in the end that didn't work out things get hot and heavy.

I wasn't completely sold on Lovey and I thought of her as a spoiled brat sometimes and maybe a little reckless, but I guess that at the age of 24 you can still do some of these things she did and get away with it. She is also unique and kind. I loved her when she went about fixing things between her and Marc because I thought that she was the one who had messed things up and she should be the one to fix it. Some may say that Marc is a little me and boring, but in the end, I liked how he changed and that he was always dedicated to his team.

What bothered me was the lack of translation. Marc is half French and he sometimes speaks french to Lovey and I had no idea what he was saying to her most of the time. He translates a thing or two, but that has a purpose in the story. I have a feeling I will follow closely the series despite the fact that have a vague image in my head about how hockey is being played. The rest of the guys appear quite a bit in the book and it was nice to get to know them even a little. A novella follows next in the series and then is Duncan's turn and I wonder if it's going to be Melissa or someone else who is going to be his lady. The secondary characters aren't as developed as the main ones and I would like to see them grow in the next books. I wonder what will happen to Lovey's friends and especially Jillian.

I know that some people didn't like Major Misconduct, but I am suggesting that you should give it a chance or at least pass the 40% mark. The book is light hearted and easy to read. It's something that I would read on a Sunday afternoon while trying to relax and enjoy my free time.